Karachi Yogini

Yoga for Life!

Yandara Yoga Teacher’s Training Changes Your Life! July 8, 2010

Filed under: And the Journey begins...,spirituality,Yoga Class — yogini786 @ 6:07 am

While I sit at the Cabos Airport in Mexico, watching people carefully walk over my power cord attached to the left of me, I realize that something in these last 3 weeks at Yandara changed me in ways that I can’t comprehend, but at the same time changes that I felt were on the brink waiting to get guidance.

I most probably won’t make too much sense for the first couple of paragraphs as I reconnect to this part of my mind that allows me to express in a coherent way, and not just the way my thoughts flow through me into my eyes, my movements and my breath.

What did yoga to do me?  I remember angrily talking to God in June 2009 while I packed my suitcase in Toronto – If you are going to this horrible thing to me, and give me so much pain, then you better be giving me something better in exchange! How ironic that those exact words though so unpoetically and unwisely spoken became a prophecy.

I left a life of controlled rational movements to find a spiritual journey bigger and more powerful then I can hardly believe myself.

Where do I start with what I learned at Yandara and how do I possibly express what I’m holding inside of me?

I arrived in Cabos June 13 a day after my cousin’s wedding in New York City (which went beautifully!) so nervous and with an overweight bag.  On the plane I met an old woman, born again Christian, who well anyways, was memorable!  I was the last to arrive of the yoga group and I walked out to meet Jasmin, a Mexican woman who was an admin person at Yandara, with my yoga mat strapped around my shoulder 😉

With my embarrassingly big bag, packed with the city girl mentality that I will need an exciting new outfit everyday for YOGA TRAINING! Hahaha I don’t know what I was thinking!  But lesson well learned that when going out in nature and living in a tent – think light, think SMALL!

I actually can’t even remember how each day flowed into the next, how nervous and strange the first day everything was and then how everything felt like home by the last day.

The miraculous thing for all of us part of the June 2010 21 day training was that the first time in 8 years Yandara did not fill its training!! What is usually 12-15 people was for the first time only 6 people and not to mention ALL FEMALE!!  It was actually the most incredible thing to have more staff than students in the program. We all had the most intimate joyous energetic time learning and growing through yoga, satya (our truthfulness group therapy sessions!!) and finally the solo vision quest.

I guess what is most useful to focus on for this entry is the gifts at this moment I realize that I am taking with me from Yandara.

–       love is the path we all must find!

–       Telling the truth IS NOT EASY

–       Be present in your body

–       Being a teacher is about loving kind energy that we emit while we teach

–       Be true to who you are without holding on to some idea of a “self” or “ego”

–       Spirituality is divinely inspired

–       Music IS DIVINE!

–       Nature is our path to God

–       Sleeping out under the stars near the ocean without a tent is a magical experience

–       We all need some time to confront what we are holding within

–       Sink into love and love everybody everything

–       Forgiveness is the key to healing your heart. And our heart is actually our main organ of perception (scientifically really our heart has NEURON CELLS!)

–       Proportions;)  all our bodies are different shapes and sizes and it makes a DIFFERENCE in yoga

–       Energetically blessing your food and waterJ

–       Stay connected and present through any emotion, thought, experience, and when the going gets tough remember – “and Now, it’s like this…”

–       Ganesha – the remover of all obstacles

–       Shiva – the force of destruction that exists as each moment becomes anew

–       Love love love, all you need is love (thank you beatles for that one!)

–       Move your body with grace in yoga – make it a dance

–       Intuitive yoga

–       Beautiful ways to assist people in their yoga poses

–       Letting go of all your fear and embracing truly all the beauty we all have within us

–       Gratitude for my family, my friends, my foes, and my immense privileges.

–       Gratitude to the most important source of all this goodness and beauty.  To Allah, I am in awe of your creation.  I am in awe of the love you bring into our lives when we open our hearts.  I am so grateful for your compassion and for finding a path that leads me into my heart, leading me to you.

–       Bismillah is my mantra (and my tattoo;0!)

 

6 Responses to “Yandara Yoga Teacher’s Training Changes Your Life!”

  1. L Says:

    So happy to hear you had such a fantastic trip! Can’t wait to take one of your classes!

  2. oxytammy Says:

    Thank you for your inspiring story. I’m going to attend the Teacher Training course in 2 days and I’m very excited just because this is exactly what I look forward to – a positive change from within….

    Your story is very similar to my first Yoga Teacher Training at the Sivananda ashram in the Bahamas… funny how I arrived in 2 huge luggages full of modern clothing and ended up not wanting to touch anything because I found that what I put on is nothing real compare to what I have within me… Makes me tear when I remember how much yoga has deepened my awareness as a soul… Namaste

    • yogini786 Says:

      Wow I’m so excited for you:) and what a parallel we have. I just returned from my 2nd training but I did it at Sivananda Kutir in the Himalayas! I think the knowledge from Yandara and Sivananda are very different but yet extremely complementary. Give lots of love to the incredible Pacific and all the wonderful teachers & staff of Yandara.

      • oxytammy Says:

        Wow, Sivananda Kutir in the Himalayas sounds amazing!! I had a wonderful experience at Yandara. So much heart opening for me. Thank you for sharing your journey so that I went there with a positive inspired spirit. It was challenging at times but it was well worth the journey. Blessings to you and your journey.


Leave a Reply

