Karachi Yogini

Yoga for Life!

Teaching Yoga to my Parents September 8, 2010

Filed under: Islam/Sufism,spirituality,Uncategorized,Yoga Class,Yoga In Karachi — yogini786 @ 10:04 pm

It’s funny how many years it has been since I felt I did something truly for my parents.  They have been there for me and given me so much love that it actually amazes me every time i think about it.  I am so truly blessed to have them in my life, even with all their faults and all the mistakes they have made I wouldn’t exchange a moment of the madness that is my family or specifically that is my parents.

Some days I feel like i’ve become their relationship counselor:)  It’s strange being an adult and living with your parents after not having lived with them for most of your adult life.  But when I moved back home this year the last thing I expected, especially with all the fireworks the first 6 months of living together brought up in our relationship, that my parents would become my most consistent and focused yoga students.

In this past month, I have offered free classes to my family and friends before officially beginning my yoga “business” and now this month is coming to an end.  With only 5-6 students in each class I have had the luxury to give them all this beautiful Shavasana (dead pose) assist, where I gently massage their head and forehead.  Every time I’ve come to massage my parents, especially my almost 69 year old father, I feel such a rush of joy and love in my heart.  I realized that in those few seconds that I am finally returning the care that he has so diligently given me and the rest of us almost all of his life.  and all that without any expectation of anything in return.

sometimes people say that heaven is on earth and so is hell.  When i reflect on my life, and I breathe in the beautiful sounds of the birds of Karachi, I can only think that for now I’ve definitely been blessed with a little piece of heaven.

 

Leave a Reply

