Karachi Yogini

Yoga for Life!

renewal July 5, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — yogini786 @ 4:25 pm

July in Karachi is a misty cloudy breeze that leaves your body sweating and your eyes soft. full of mercy the gray.white clouds painted over the sun allow us to return to days that are full of anticipated release.

In this past month, I have actually done close to nothing in terms of my usual external responsibilities.  Back in May I had longed for this time, and I had no idea what I would do but the solitude and the practice of being with myself has led to a deep sense of renewal. as if i’m starting again on a new journey from the inside out.

everyday for months my body has ached.  the lower back, the hips, pelvic pain, and I have struggled and struggled to find the medicine to cure this pain.  I knew it was part body, part mind, part feeling, and part spirit.  And all these dislocated parts of me were coming up, everyday, as uninvited guests into my body.  Asking to be heard, asking for attention.

View from Hubble Telescope

With sleepless summer nights, late mornings reminding me of my early 20’s, I have had a month of re learning how to move. and this morning I realized, that I am relearning how to move from the inside.out.  That moment of recognition came from a simple yet profound insight shared with me last night by Shaykh Ebrahim about attention.  Our attention, which has the capacity to have the space to hold the entire universe (or multi-verse) inside. And when our attention is in the here, than we are faced with the what we truly are, and the veil of our separation from the rest of creation just turns to dust.

As my spine transforms, as my body moves and learns new languages within ancient ones, pain has again been my greatest teacher and an unbelievable blessing.   to be exposed within, to be vulnerable as we move from one foot to another, and yet to know we are guided by a deeply rooted core of love.  One that is physical, emotional, mental and most incredibly divine.

What happens when your soul
Begins to awaken
Your eyes
And your heart
And the cells of your body
To the great Journey of Love?

First there is wonderful laughter
And probably precious tears

And a hundred sweet promises
And those heroic vows
No one can ever keep.

But still God is delighted and amused
You once tried to be a saint.

What happens when your soul
Begins to awake in this world

To our deep need to love
And serve the Friend?

O the Beloved
Will send you
One of His wonderful, wild companions ~
Like Hafiz.

 

Leave a Reply

